Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer


CIVIS is a European Civic University formed by the alliance of 11 leading research higher education institutions across Europe: Aix-Marseille Université, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, University of Bucharest, Université libre de Bruxelles, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Sapienza Università di Roma, Stockholm University, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, University of Glasgow, Paris Lodron University of Salzburg and University of Lausanne.

It brings together a community of more than 470,000 students and 58,000 staff members including 35,000 academics and researchers.

The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens is a CIVIS member and has 8 Schools and 33 Departments issuing corresponding Bachelor degrees. Currently, the NKUA offers 183 postgraduate programs leading to a Master's or a Doctoral degree in science and arts. It has 5 University Research Institutes, 3 University Hospitals, 76 Clinics, 224 University Laboratories, 10 libraries, a University Club. It also offers the History Museum of the University, the Historical Archive and 13 thematic museums, the Modern Greek Language Teaching Center for foreigners, and the Foreign Languages Teaching Center where 25 languages can be studied and special programs are available in language, translation, and science of law or medicine.


UoA Info & CIVIS Contact

Contact: civis[at]uoa[dot]gr