Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer


More than 68,000 undergraduate and post-graduate students have selected to study in one of our 43 Departments distributed to nine Schools. 

More than 200 Master programs are offered covering a variety of scientific fields and arts. Four of these postgraduate programs are offered in cooperation with major research institutes like the Biomedical Sciences Research Center “Alexander Fleming", the National Center for Scientific Research (NCSR) “Demokritos”, the Greek Atomic Energy Commission, etc. Cooperation Agreements have been established with 28 European Universities for the co-supervision of PhD dissertations covering all academic fields of our University.

2,100 faculty members as well as well as research and technical staff will help you with your studies and research and approximately 1,000 administrative staff members will support you. 
Faculty, researchers and students of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens are dedicated to research activities throughout the year. A total number of 224 University Laboratories as well as 11 Libraries and 13 thematic Museumsare distributed in all relevant Schools serving educational as well as fundamental and applied research purposes. Clinical research and education is also carried out at the 71 clinics of the School of Health Science. They operate in Athens hospitals (Attikon, Evangelismos, Hippokrateion, Laikon etc.) or at the premises of the related Academic Departments.

7.600 international students are registered in the 9 Schools of the University. We encourage all incoming students to get involved in as many studying and leisure facilities as possible.