Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer


The Department of Digital Arts and Cinema of National and Kapodestrian University of Athens (NKUA) was established in 2019 and its mission is to cultivate outstanding artists and professionals within the context of Art and Technology and more specifically in the fields of interactive arts, animation and cinema in the digital age. The undergraduate programme consists of two basic pillars: Digital art and Cinema. These two basic orientations intertwine and complement each other, therefore they co-exist within the course of study.

Digital Arts and Cinema undergraduate programme takes four (4) years to complete encompassing eight (8) semesters and two hundred forty (240) educational credits (ECTS) or forty two (42) college courses and one (1) mandatory bachelor thesis. The academic curriculum consists of twenty eight (28) mandatory, fifiteen (15) optional compulsory and five (5) elective courses. A bachelors thesis is the final project required in the 8th and final semester of studies in order the programme to be completed.

The Digital Arts and Cinema Department is located in the Evripos Complex of the island of Evia at the Municipality of Dirphys-Messapia under the Mount Dirfys an hour away from Athens metropolitan area and it is part of University of Athens strategic decentralization planning.The Evripos Complex was founded in accordance with the provisions of the 4589/2019 Law, after the integration of departments of the former TEI of Central Greece with the National Kapodistrian University of Athens.